Winston Salem Winners

The Winston-Salem Tournament or Winston-Salem Open is a tennis tournament of the ATP 250 category that was played for the first time in the 2011 season of the Professional Tennis Association calendar. This tournament was held on Long Island until 2004 and then in New Haven until 2010.

United States icon
surface image

Hard Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Winston Salem Champions

Location Year Winner Runner-Up Score
Long Island (exhibition) 1981 United States icon Brian Teacher France icon Yannick Noah 4-6 6-3 6-4
Long Island (exhibition) 1982 United States icon Gene Mayer United States icon Johan Kriek 6-2 6-3
Long Island (exhibition) 1983 United States icon Gene Mayer Switzerland  icon Heinz Gunthardt 6-7(9) 6-4 6-0
Long Island (exhibition) 1984 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez 6-2 6-4
Long Island (exhibition) 1985 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl United States icon Jimmy Connors 6-1 6-3
Long Island (exhibition) 1986 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl United States icon John McEnroe 6-2 6-4
Long Island (exhibition) 1987 Sweden icon Jonas Svensson United States icon David Pate 7-6 3-6 6-3
Long Island (exhibition) 1988 United States icon Andre Agassi France icon Yannick Noah 6-3 0-6 6-4
Long Island (exhibition) 1989 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Sweden icon Mikael Pernfors 4-6 6-2 6-4
Long Island 1990 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg Yugoslavia icon Goran Ivanišević 7-6 6-3
Long Island 1991 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6-3 6-2
Long Island 1992 Czech Republic icon Petr Korda United States icon Ivan Lendl 6-2 6-2
Long Island 1993 Switzerland  icon Marc Rosset United States icon Michael Chang 6-4 3-6 6-1
Long Island 1994 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov France icon Cédric Pioline 5-7 6-1 6-2
Long Island 1995 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov Netherlands  icon Jan Siemerink 7-6(0) 6-2
Long Island 1996 Ukraine icon Andrei Medvedev Czech Republic icon Martin Damm 7-5 6-3
Long Island 1997 Spain icon Carlos Moyá Australia icon Patrick Rafter 6-4 7-6(1)
Long Island 1998 Australia icon Patrick Rafter Spain icon Félix Mantilla 7-6(3) 6-2
Long Island 1999 Sweden icon Magnus Norman Spain icon Àlex Corretja 7-6(4) 4-6 6-3
Long Island 2000 Sweden icon Magnus Norman Sweden icon Thomas Enqvist 6-3 5-7 7-5
Long Island 2001 Germany icon Tommy Haas United States icon Pete Sampras 6-3 3-6 6-2
Long Island 2002 Thailand icon Paradorn Srichaphan Argentina  icon Juan Ignacio Chela 5-7 6-2 6-2
Long Island 2003 Thailand icon Paradorn Srichaphan United States icon James Blake 6-2 6-4
Long Island 2004 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Peru icon Luis Horna 6-3 6-1
New Haven 2005 United States icon James Blake Spain icon Feliciano López 3-6 7-5 6-1
New Haven 2006 Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko Argentina  icon Agustín Calleri 6-4 6-3
New Haven 2007 United States icon James Blake United States icon Mardy Fish 7-5 6-4
New Haven 2008 Croatia icon Marin Čilić United States icon Mardy Fish 6-4 4-6 6-2
New Haven 2009 Spain icon Fernando Verdasco United States icon Sam Querrey 6-4 7-6(6)
New Haven 2010 Ukraine icon Sergiy Stakhovsky Uzbekistan icon Denis Istomin 3-6 6-3 6-4
Winston-Salem 2011 United States icon John Isner France icon Julien Benneteau 4-6 6-3 6-4
Winston-Salem 2012 United States icon John Isner Czech Republic icon Tomas Berdych 3-6 6-4 7-6(9)
Winston-Salem 2013 Austria icon Jürgen Melzer France icon Gaël Monfils 6-3 2-1 ret.
Winston-Salem 2014 Czech Republic icon Lukáš Rosol Poland icon Jerzy Janowicz 3-6 7-6(3) 7-5
Winston-Salem 2015  Kevin Anderson France icon Pierre-Hugues Herbert 6-4 7-5
Winston-Salem 2016 Spain icon Pablo Carreño Spain icon Roberto Bautista 6-7(8) 7-6(1) 6-4
Winston-Salem 2017 Spain icon Roberto Bautista Bosnia and Herzegovina icon Damir Džumhur 6-4 6-4
Winston-Salem 2018 Russia icon Daniil Medvédev United States icon Steve Johnson 6-4 6-4
Winston-Salem 2019 Poland icon Hubert Hurkacz France icon Benoît Paire 6-3 3-6 6-3

General Information

When ATP began its modern gradation of elite men's tour events in 1990, it divided the summer segment of the calendar so that a week was set aside for lesser status events between the cluster of top-ranked tournaments and the US Open, where players from the subelite group competed. A fair number of tournaments were held during that time frame, but only one stayed on the calendar for long: in 1990-94, the New York tournament was held here; in 1990-2004, another New York tournament was held on Long Island; in 1996, because of the Olympics, the Canadian Super 9 series tournament was moved to this week; in 1997-99, the Boston US Pro Championship was held in this week. From 2005 to 2010, this place on the calendar was occupied by the New Haven tournament, held in conjunction with the women's competition.

In December 2010, due to funding cuts in Connecticut caused by the withdrawal of a title sponsor, the men's and women's events were separated and while the WTA competition retained its venue, the ATP trophy was moved to North Carolina: Winston-Salem. A new stadium was built on the campus of Wake Forest University to host the tournament.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!