Umag Winners

The Umag Tournament is a men's tennis tournament held in Umag (Croatia) within the men's ATP World Tour 250 calendar. It is played on clay since the 1990 season during the summer season of tournaments on brick dust in Europe.

Croatia icon
surface image

Clay Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Umag Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
1990 Croatia icon Goran Prpić Croatia icon Goran Ivanišević 6–3 4–6 6–4
1991 Soviet Union icon Dimitri Poliakov Spain icon Javier Sánchez 6–4 6–4
1992 Austria icon Thomas Muster Argentina  icon Franco Davín 6–1 4–6 6–4
1993 Austria icon Thomas Muster (2) Spain icon Alberto Berasategui 7–5 3–6 6–3
1994 Spain icon Alberto Berasategui Slovakia icon Karol Kučera 6–2 6–4
1995 Austria icon Thomas Muster (3) Spain icon Carlos Costa 3–6 7–6(7–5) 6–4
1996 Spain icon Carlos Moyá Spain icon Félix Mantilla 6–0 7–6(7–4)
1997 Spain icon Félix Mantilla Spain icon Sergi Bruguera 6–3 7–5
1998 Czech Republic icon Bohdan Ulihrach Sweden icon Magnus Norman 6–3 7–6(7–0)
1999 Sweden icon Magnus Norman United States icon Jeff Tarango 6–2 6–4
2000 Chile icon Marcelo Ríos Argentina  icon Mariano Puerta 7–6(7–1) 4–6 6–3
2001 Spain icon Carlos Moyá (2) France icon Jérôme Golmard 6–4 3–6 7–6(7–2)
2002 Spain icon Carlos Moyá (3) Spain icon David Ferrer 6–2 6–3
2003 Spain icon Carlos Moyá (4) Italy icon Filippo Volandri 6–4 3–6 7–5
2004 Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas Italy icon Filippo Volandri 7–5 6–3
2005 Argentina  icon Guillermo Coria Spain icon Carlos Moyá 6–2 4–6 6–2
2006 Switzerland  icon Stanislas Wawrinka Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6–6(1–3) retired
2007 Spain icon Carlos Moyá (5) Romania icon Andrei Pavel 6–4 6–2
2008 Spain icon Fernando Verdasco Russia icon Igor Andreev 3–6 6–4 7–6(7–4)
2009 Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero 6–3 6–0
2010 Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero Italy icon Potito Starace 6–4 6–4
2011 Ukraine icon Alexandr Dolgopolov Croatia icon Marin Čilić 6–4 3–6 6–3
2012 Croatia icon Marin Čilić Spain icon Marcel Granollers 6–4 6–2
2013 Spain icon Tommy Robredo Italy icon Fabio Fognini 6–0 6–3
2014 Uruguay icon Pablo Cuevas Spain icon Tommy Robredo 6–3 6–4
2015 Austria icon Dominic Thiem Portugal icon João Sousa 6–4 6–1
2016 Italy icon Fabio Fognini Slovakia icon Andrej Martin 6–4 6–1
2017 Russia icon Andrey Rublev Italy icon Paolo Lorenzi 6–4 6–2
2018 Italy icon Marco Cecchinato Argentina  icon Guido Pella 6–2 7–6(7–4)
2019 Serbia icon Dušan Lajović Hungary icon Attila Balázs 7–5 7–5
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

The tournament was first held in 1990 as the Yugoslavian Open. In the first two years of its existence, the tournament was held in May, after which it was moved to August.
Since 2012, the tournament has been sponsored by Vegeta Croatia Open, in honor of the universal food seasoning produced by the tournament's main sponsor, the food company Podravka.

Winners and finalists

In the tournament's twenty-year history, two players have won singles more than once: Carlos Moya has five victories and Thomas Muster has three. In doubles, Slovak Michal Mertiniak and Czech Frantisek Cermak won three times each (including once together), as well as Spaniard David Marrero.
Croatian tennis player Goran Prpic won his first tournament in Umag and remains the only Croatian to win there, both in singles and doubles.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!