Tokyo Winners

The Tokyo Tournament, officially the Rakuten Japan Open Tennis Championships, is a professional tennis tournament held in Tokyo, Japan. It is held on hard surface at the Ariake Coliseum complex since 1973, and is included in the ATP circuit calendar. It belongs to the ATP 500 category.

Japan icon
surface image

Hard Court (Indoors)

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Tokyo Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
1973 Australia icon Ken Rosewall Australia icon John Newcombe 6–1 6–4
1974 Australia icon John Newcombe Australia icon Ken Rosewall 3–6 6–2 6–3
1975 Mexico icon Raúl Ramírez Spain icon Manuel Orantes 6–4 7–5 6–3
1976 United States icon Roscoe Tanner Italy icon Corrado Barazzutti 6–3 6–2
1977 Spain icon Manuel Orantes Australia icon Kim Warwick 6–2 6–1
1978 Italy icon Adriano Panatta United States icon Pat Du Pré 6–3 6–3
1979 United States icon Terry Moor United States icon Pat Du Pré 3–6 7–6 6–2
1980 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl United States icon Eliot Teltscher 3–6 6–4 6–0
1981 Hungary icon Balázs Taróczy United States icon Eliot Teltscher 6–3 1–6 7–6
1982 United States icon Jimmy Arias France icon Dominique Bedel 6–2 2–6 6–4
1983 United States icon Eliot Teltscher Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez 7–5 3–6 6–1
1984 United States icon David Pate United States icon Terry Moor 6–3 7–5
1985 United States icon Scott Davis United States icon Jimmy Arias 6–1 7–6
1986 India icon Ramesh Krishnan Sweden icon Johan Carlsson 6–3 6–1
1987 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg United States icon David Pate 7–6 6–4
1988 United States icon John McEnroe Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6–2 6–2
1989 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg (2) Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 6–3 2–6 6–4
1990 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg (3) United States icon Aaron Krickstein 6–4 7–5
1991 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg (4) Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 6–1 7–5 6–0
1992 United States icon Jim Courier Netherlands  icon Richard Krajicek 6–4 6–4 7–6
1993 United States icon Pete Sampras United States icon Brad Gilbert 6–2 6–2 6–2
1994 United States icon Pete Sampras (2) United States icon Michael Chang 6–4 6–2
1995 United States icon Jim Courier (2) United States icon Andre Agassi 6–3 6–4
1996 United States icon Pete Sampras (3) United States icon Richey Reneberg 6–4 7–5
1997 Netherlands  icon Richard Krajicek France icon Lionel Roux 6–2 3–6 6–1
1998 Romania icon Andrei Pavel zimbabwe icon Byron Black 6–3 6–4
1999 Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer  South Africa icon Wayne Ferreira 7–6(7–5) 7–5
2000 Netherlands  icon Sjeng Schalken Ecuador icon Nicolás Lapentti 6–4 3–6 6–1
2001 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Switzerland  icon Michel Kratochvil 6–4 6–2
2002 Denmark icon Kenneth Carlsen Sweden icon Magnus Norman 7–6(8–6) 6–3
2003 Germany icon Rainer Schüttler France icon Sébastien Grosjean 7–6(7–5) 6–2
2004 Czech Republic icon Jiří Novák United States icon Taylor Dent 5–7 6–1 6–3
2005  South Africa icon Wesley Moodie Croatia icon Mario Ančić 1–6 7–6(9–7) 6–4
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Soviet Union icon Tim Henman 6–3 6–3
2007 Spain icon David Ferrer France icon Richard Gasquet 6–1 6–2
2008 Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro 6–1 6–4
2009 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Russia icon Mikhail Youzhny 6–3 6–3
2010 Spain icon Rafael Nadal France icon Gaël Monfils 6–1 7–5
2011 Soviet Union icon Andy Murray Spain icon Rafael Nadal 3–6 6–2 6–0
2012 Japan icon Kei Nishikori Canada icon Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5) 3–6 6–0
2013 Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro Canada icon Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5) 7–5
2014 Japan icon Kei Nishikori (2) Canada icon Milos Raonic 7–6(7–5) 4–6 6–4
2015 Switzerland  icon Stan Wawrinka France icon Benoît Paire 6–2 6–4
2016 Australia icon Nick Kyrgios Belgium icon David Goffin 4−6 6−3 7−5
2017 Belgium icon David Goffin France icon Adrian Mannarino 6−3 7−5
2018 Russia icon Daniil Medvedev Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6–2 6–4
2019 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Australia icon John Millman 6–3 6–2

General Information.

The men's professional tennis Grand Prix stage in Tokyo was organized on the eve of the 1972 season. The first tournament was played on the open courts and in men's singles only; a year later, the championship, gradually gaining popularity and permanent funding, was complemented by competitions in women's singles and men's doubles, and in 1974 in women's doubles as well.

The four champions have not been crowned every time since: the men's doubles tournament was not held in 1974, while the women's singles and women's doubles tournaments were not held in 1976-78.

The championships regularly drew a strong lineup and, when the professional tennis tours were reorganized at the turn of the 1990s, were given the status first as a WTA tournament and then as an ATP tournament. In 2009, the women's competition had its WTA tournament license revoked in favor of the newly created Osaka tournament, but for the next two years the Tokyo championship continued to exist as an elite ITF women's tour event until it was canceled due to power savings in the city caused by a major earthquake six months earlier. In 2015, the women's tournament in Tokyo, under the name of the Japanese Open, was resumed, but as of 2018, the women's tournament moved to Hiroshima.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!