Shanghai Winners

The Shanghai Masters is a tennis tournament that has been held annually in Shanghai, China, since 2009. This tournament is part of the ATP Masters 1000 on the ATP men's circuit, and therefore is the most important tennis tournament in Asia.

China icon
surface image

Hard Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Shanghai Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
2009 Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko Spain icon Rafael Nadal 7–6(7–3) 6–3
2010 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–3 6–2
2011 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (2) Spain icon David Ferrer 7–5 6–4
2012 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Great Britain icon Andy Murray 5–7 7–6(13–11) 6–3
2013 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (2) Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro 6–1 3–6 7–6(7–3)
2014 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer France icon Gilles Simon 7–6(8–6) 7–6(7–2)
2015 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (3) France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6–2 6–4
2016 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (3) Spain icon Roberto Bautista Agut 7–6(7–1) 6–1
2017 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6–4 6–3
2018 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (4) Croatia icon Borna Ćorić 6–3 6–4
2019 Russia icon Daniil Medvedev Germany icon Alexander Zverev 6–4 6–1
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

The modern history of Men's Pro Tour competition began in 1996, when the city hosted the ATP Main Tour Base Series tournament. That prize lasted on the calendar for eight seasons until it was moved to Vietnam. In its place, first on a trial basis (in 2002) and then on a long-term basis (in 2005-08), the Association Final Tournament was held in Shanghai.

A new regular tournament was created on the eve of the 2009 season, when in the course of reorganizing the ATP calendar the rights for one of the Masters series tournaments were given to the Chinese organizers, having taken them from Hamburg.

Winners and finalists

In singles events, three players have won more than once: Novak Djokovic (four titles), Andy Murray (three) and Roger Federer, who won twice. In doubles, Brazilian Marcelo Melo is the leader in the number of trophies, winning three times on the local court with different partners. Leander Paes won two titles. Apart from them no one could win more than once.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!