Rio de Janeiro Winners

The Rio de Janeiro Tournament, officially known as the Rio Open, is an ATP World Tour 500 tournament. The tournament is held on outdoor clay courts.

Brazil icon
surface image

Clay Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Rio de Janeiro Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
2014 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Ukraine icon Alexandr Dolgopolov 6–3 7–6(7–3)
2015 Spain icon David Ferrer Italy icon Fabio Fognini 6–2 6–3
2016 Uruguay icon Pablo Cuevas Argentina  icon Guido Pella 6–4 6–7(5–7) 6–4
2017 Austria icon Dominic Thiem Spain icon Pablo Carreño Busta 7–5 6–4
2018 Argentina  icon Diego Schwartzman Spain icon Fernando Verdasco 6–2 6–3
2019 Serbia icon Laslo Đere Canada icon Félix Auger-Aliassime 6–3 7–5
2020 Chile icon Cristian Garín Italy icon Gianluca Mager 7–67–3 7–5

General Information

The Rio de Janeiro Pro Tour competition was organized in 1989 as part of the men's professional Grand Prix series, completing the region's competition series. A year later, the tournament joined the newly created ATP main tour, retaining its own dates and the basic category of the series. However, the championship in this form lasted only two seasons - in 1991, the Brazilian organizers could not find funds to provide the prize fund of their competition, and the license to host the event was transferred to Tampa, USA. The championship had to wait several decades to resume, and it was only before the 2014 season, when financial problems befell the men's tournament in San Jose and the combined prize in Memphis (both in the United States), the Brazilians were able to buy back their ATP 500 men's tournament license (making their prize the centerpiece event of the February primetime stretch of the calendar), as well as their WTA International tournament license (bringing the women's tour event back to town for the first time since 1984, when one of the National Open's pro tour draws was held here).

The clay tournament fit in between the Australian Open and a major event in Indian Wells, taking the third of four weeks of that regional segment for men and the only one for women (although there are two more New World tournaments next on the calendar, but a hard surface has been chosen to host them). In the first year of the new championship, the then leading world champion Rafael Nadal took part.

Tournament Finals

Results for 1989 and 1990 are from the ATP results archive. For the first four draws of the tournament, the successes of local tennis players are associated exclusively with the men's tournaments: Luis Mattar won both 20th century singles tournaments, and in doubles the Brazilians played twice in the finals, but lost both times.

Since the reopening of the tournament in 2014, no one has yet won the singles draw more than once. In men's doubles, Colombian tennis players Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah won two titles in 2014 and 2016. In women's doubles, Argentina's Maria Irigoyen won two doubles trophies with different partners in 2014 and 2016.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!