Newport Winners

The Newport Tournament, officially Campbell's Hall of Fame Championships, is an ATP World Tour 250 men's tennis tournament held annually at the International Tennis Hall of Fame facility in Newport, USA.

United States icon
surface image

Grass Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Newport Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1976 India icon Vijay Amritraj United States icon Brian Teacher 6-3 4-6 6-3 6-1
1977 United States icon Tim Gullikson United States icon Hank Pfister 6-4 6-4 5-7 6-2
1978  South Africa icon Bernard Mitton Australia icon John James 6-1 3-6 7-6
1979 United States icon Brian Teacher United States icon Stan Smith 1-6 6-3 6-4
1980 India icon Vijay Amritraj  Andrew Pattison 6-1 5-7 6-3
1981 United States icon Johan Kriek United States icon Hank Pfister 3-6 6-3 7-5
1982 United States icon Hank Pfister United States icon Mike Estep 6-1 7-5
1983 Australia icon John Fitzgerald United States icon Scott Davis 2-6 6-1 6-3
1984 India icon Vijay Amritraj United States icon Tim Mayotte 3-6 6-4 6-4
1985 United States icon Tom Gullikson United States icon John Sadri 6-3 7-5
1986 United States icon Bill Scanlon United States icon Tim Wilkison 7-5 6-4
1987 United States icon Dan Goldie United States icon Sammy Giammalva Jr. 6-7 6-4 6-4
1988 Australia icon Wally Masur Australia icon Brad Drewett 6-2 6-1
1989 United States icon Jim Pugh Sweden icon Peter Lundgren 6-4 4-6 6-2
1990  South Africa icon Pieter Aldrich Australia icon Darren Cahill 7-6 1-6 6-1
1991 United States icon Bryan Shelton Argentina  icon Javier Frana 3-6 6-4 6-4
1992 United States icon Bryan Shelton Austria icon Alex Antonitsch 6-4 6-4
1993 Canada icon Greg Rusedski Argentina  icon Javier Frana 7-5 6-7(7) 7-6(5)
1994 United States icon David Wheaton Australia icon Todd Woodbridge 6-4 3-6 7-6(5)
1995 Germany icon David Prinosil United States icon David Wheaton 7-6(3) 5-7 6-2
1996 Venezuela icon Nicolás Pereira  South Africa icon Grant Stafford 4-6 6-4 6-4
1997 Armenia  icon Sargis Sargsian New Zealand icon Brett Steven 7-6(0) 4-6 7-5
1998 India icon Leander Paes  South Africa icon Neville Godwin 6-3 6-2
1999 United States icon Chris Woodruff Denmark icon Kenneth Carlsen 6-7(5) 6-4 6-4
2000 Netherlands  icon Peter Wessels Germany icon Jens Knippschild 7-6(3) 6-3
2001  South Africa icon Neville Godwin Great Britain icon Martin Lee 6-1 6-4
2002 United States icon Taylor Dent United States icon James Blake 6-1 4-6 6-4
2003 United States icon Robby Ginepri Austria icon Jürgen Melzer 6-4 6-7(3) 6-1
2004 Great Britain icon Greg Rusedski Germany icon Alexander Popp 7-6(5) 7-6(2)
2005 Great Britain icon Greg Rusedski United States icon Vince Spadea 7-6(3) 2-6 6-4
2006 Australia icon Mark Philippoussis United States icon Justin Gimelstob 6-3 7-5
2007 France icon Fabrice Santoro France icon Nicolas Mahut 6-4 6-4
2008 France icon Fabrice Santoro India icon Prakash Amritraj 6-3 7-5
2009 United States icon Rajeev Ram United States icon Sam Querrey 6-7(3) 7-5 6-3
2010 United States icon Mardy Fish Belgium icon Olivier Rochus 5-7 6-3 6-4
2011 United States icon John Isner Belgium icon Olivier Rochus 6-3 7-6(6)
2012 United States icon John Isner Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 7-6(1) 6-4
2013 France icon Nicolas Mahut Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 5-7 7-5 6-3
2014 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Croatia icon Ivo Karlović 6-3 6-7(4) 7-6(3)
2015 United States icon Rajeev Ram Croatia icon Ivo Karlović 7-6(5) 5-7 7-6(2)
2016 Croatia icon Ivo Karlović Luxembourg  icon Gilles Müller 6-7(2) 7-6(5) 7-6(12)
2017 United States icon John Isner Australia icon Matthew Ebden 6-3 7-6(4)
2018 United States icon Steve Johnson India icon Ramkumar Ramanathan 7-5 3-6 6-2
2019 United States icon John Isner Kazakhstan  icon Aleksandr Búblik 7-6(2) 6-3

General Information

The tournament has been played in its modern form since 1976, but even before that, in 1881, the first U.S. National Championship was held on the grass courts of a casino in Newport, then held there for 33 more years. In 1990, with the formation of the ATP Grand Tour, the Newport Prize was added to the ATP calendar as a Division I event. Due to the timing (just after Wimbledon and at the same time as Davis Cup quarterfinals and the World TeamTennis Professional League) only a handful of top players travel to Newport. In both 2008 and 2010, for example, the second seeded player was outside the top 50 of the ATP rankings and the eighth seeded player was the last one to be ranked near the 100th position.

Winners and finalists

From 1977-2010, the tournament was never won by the number one seeded tennis player; this fact is known as the "casino curse", after the Newport Casino, where the tournament is held. "The curse" was lifted by American John Isner, who made it to the 2011 tournament net at the last minute. However, the list of the winners of the tournament during the "curse" period had some very unexpected persons: in 2009 the competition was won by Rajiv Ram, who got into the main draw as a "lucky loser", i.e. he lost in the qualification and replaced the player eliminated from the main draw at the last moment thanks to a favorable draw.

John Isner won the singles competition four times (in 2011, 2012, 2017 and 2019). Vijay Amritraj won three times (in 1976, 1980 and 1984) and Greg Rusedski (in 1993, 2004 and 2005). Amritraj has two more doubles victories to his credit, making him the tournament's most decorated player overall (five titles), along with Jordan Kerr, who has won five doubles titles, including three with Jim Thomas.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!