Montpellier Winners

The Tournament of Montpellier (officially called Open Sud de France) is a tennis tournament held in France within the men's calendar in the ATP World Tour 250 category. From 1987 to 2009 it was played in Lyon on a carpet at the end of the season in preparation for the Paris Masters. In 2010 the tournament moved to Montpellier and was played on a hard surface.

France icon
surface image

Hard Court (Indoors)

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Montpellier Champions

Location Year Champions Runners-up Score
Lyon 1987 France icon Yannick Noah Sweden icon Joakim Nyström 6–4 7–5
Lyon 1988 Senegal icon Yahiya Doumbia United States icon Todd Nelson 6–4 3–6 6–3
Lyon 1989 United States icon John McEnroe Switzerland  icon Jakob Hlasek 6–3 7–6
Lyon 1990 Switzerland  icon Marc Rosset Sweden icon Mats Wilander 6–3 6–2
Lyon 1991 United States icon Pete Sampras France icon Olivier Delaître 6–1 6–1
Lyon 1992 United States icon Pete Sampras (2) France icon Cédric Pioline 6–4 6–2
Lyon 1993 United States icon Pete Sampras (3) France icon Cédric Pioline 7–6(7–5) 1–6 7–5
Lyon 1994 Switzerland  icon Marc Rosset (2) United States icon Jim Courier 6–4 7–6(7–2)
Lyon 1995  South Africa icon Wayne Ferreira United States icon Pete Sampras 7–6(7–2) 5–7 6–3
Lyon 1996 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov France icon Arnaud Boetsch 7–5 6–3
Lyon 1997 France icon Fabrice Santoro Germany icon Tommy Haas 6–4 6–4
Lyon 1998 Spain icon Àlex Corretja Germany icon Tommy Haas 2–6 7–6(8–6) 6–1
Lyon 1999 Ecuador icon Nicolás Lapentti Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 6–3 6–2
Lyon 2000 France icon Arnaud Clément Australia icon Patrick Rafter 7–6(7–2) 7–6(7–5)
Lyon 2001 Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui 6–3 6–2
Lyon 2002 France icon Paul-Henri Mathieu Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten 4–6 6–3 6–1
Lyon 2003 Germany icon Rainer Schüttler France icon Arnaud Clément 7–5 6–3
Lyon 2004 Sweden icon Robin Söderling Belgium icon Xavier Malisse 6–2 3–6 6–4
Lyon 2005 United States icon Andy Roddick France icon Gaël Monfils 6–3 6–2
Lyon 2006 France icon Richard Gasquet France icon Marc Gicquel 6–3 6–1
Lyon 2007 France icon Sébastien Grosjean France icon Marc Gicquel 7–6(7–5) 6–4
Lyon 2008 Sweden icon Robin Söderling (2) France icon Julien Benneteau 6–3 6–7(5–7) 6–1
Lyon 2009 Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić (2) France icon Michaël Llodra 7–5 6–3
Montpellier 2010 France icon Gaël Monfils Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 6–2 5–7 6–1
Montpellier 2011 Not Held
Montpellier 2012 Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych France icon Gaël Monfils 6–2 4–6 6–3
Montpellier 2013 France icon Richard Gasquet (2) France icon Benoît Paire 6–2 6–3
Montpellier 2014 France icon Gaël Monfils (2) France icon Richard Gasquet 6–4 6–4
Montpellier 2015 France icon Richard Gasquet (3) Poland icon Jerzy Janowicz 3–0 ret.
Montpellier 2016 France icon Richard Gasquet (4) France icon Paul-Henri Mathieu 7–5 6–4
Montpellier 2017 Germany icon Alexander Zverev France icon Richard Gasquet 7–6(7–4) 6–3
Montpellier 2018 France icon Lucas Pouille France icon Richard Gasquet 7–6(7–4) 6–4
Montpellier 2019 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga France icon Pierre-Hugues Herbert 6–4 6–2
Montpellier 2020 France icon Gaël Monfils (3) Canada icon Vasek Pospisil 7–5 6–3

General Information

This French Grand Prix event was founded on the eve of the 1987 season, as part of the February hard-court series. The first Grand Prix tournament ended with a double victory for French tennis star Yannick Noah in singles and doubles (with Guy Forge). In 1990, the tournament was included on the ATP Tour as an ATP World base category tournament and moved to the fall part of the season.

In 1999 the Lyon Grand Prix tennis tournament was named the best tournament of the ATP World Tour (ATP International) by a vote of the tennis players.

In 2010, the tournament was moved from Lyon to Montpellier in the new "Park & Suites Arena" stadium, which has a total capacity of 7,500 spectators during the tournament. In 2011, due to changes in the timing of the tournament (from late fall to early February), the championship was not held and was revived in 2012.

Winners and finalists

The leader in the number of singles titles in the French competition is Richard Gasquet, who went undefeated four times in a game week. He has also played in seven finals. American Pete Sampras and another Frenchman Gael Monfils have three singles trophies. Marc Rosset (two singles and one doubles), Yevgeny Kafelnikov, two other masters Fabrice Santoro and Sebastien Grojean (one singles and two doubles), and Jacob Hlasek, Andy Rahm and Michael Lioudre (all doubles) also have three titles. French tennis players have won many times in Lyon and played in the finals. A total of 9 Frenchmen were singles champions and 12 in doubles. In 2006, 2007, 2013, 2014 and 2016, purely French finals were played in singles and in 2009 in doubles. The finals, in which all participants represented only one nation, were played in doubles twice more: in 1990 (all players from the USA) and in 1993 (all participants from South Africa).

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!