Miami Winners

The Miami Masters is an annual tennis tournament that until 2018 was held in Key Biscayne, in Miami-Dade County, Florida. Starting in 2019, but without changing the county, the tournament was no longer held in Key Biscayne but in the city of Miami Gardens.

United States icon
surface image

Hard Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Miami Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1985 United States icon Tim Mayotte United States icon Scott Davis 4-6 4-6 6-3 6-2 6-4
1986 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Sweden icon Mats Wilander 3-6 6-1 7-6 6-4
1987 Czech Republic icon Miloslav Mečíř Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 7-5 6-2 7-5
1988 Sweden icon Mats Wilander United States icon Jimmy Connors 6-4 4-6 6-4 6-4
1989 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Austria icon Thomas Muster w/o
1990 United States icon Andre Agassi Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6-1 6-4 0-6 6-2
1991 United States icon Jim Courier United States icon David Wheaton 4-6 6-3 6-4
1992 United States icon Michael Chang Argentina  icon Alberto Mancini 7-5 7-5
1993 United States icon Pete Sampras United States icon MaliVai Washington 6-3 6-2
1994 United States icon Pete Sampras United States icon Andre Agassi 5-7 6-3 6-3
1995 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Pete Sampras 3-6 6-2 7-6(3)
1996 United States icon Andre Agassi Croatia icon Goran Ivanišević 3-0 w.o.
1997 Austria icon Thomas Muster Spain icon Sergi Bruguera 7-6(6) 6-3 6-1
1998 Chile icon Marcelo Ríos United States icon Andre Agassi 7-5 6-3 6-4
1999 Netherlands  icon Richard Krajicek France icon Sébastien Grosjean 4-6 6-1 6-2 7-5
2000 United States icon Pete Sampras Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten 6-1 6-7(2) 7-6(5) 7-6(8)
2001 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Jan-Michael Gambill 7-6 6-1 6-0
2002 United States icon Andre Agassi Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6-3 6-3 3-6 6-4
2003 United States icon Andre Agassi Spain icon Carlos Moyá 6-3 6-3
2004 United States icon Andy Roddick Argentina  icon Guillermo Coria 6-7(2) 6-3 6-1 ret.
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Spain icon Rafael Nadal 2-6 6-7(4) 7-6(5) 6-3 6-1
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 7-6(5) 7-6(4) 7-6(6)
2007 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas 6-3 6-4 6-2
2008 Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6-4 6-2
2009 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6-2 7-5
2010 United States icon Andy Roddick Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 7-5 6-4
2011 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 4-6 6-3 7-6(4)
2012 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6-1 7-6(4)
2013 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Spain icon David Ferrer 2-6 6-4 7-6(1)
2014 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6-3 6-3
2015 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Great Britain icon Andy Murray 7-6(3) 4-6 6-0
2016 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6-3 6-3
2017 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6-3 6-4
2018 United States icon John Isner Germany icon Alexander Zverev 6-7(4) 6-4 6-4
2019 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon John Isner 6-1 6-4
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

The tournament was created by former tennis player Butch Buchholz. It took Buchholz three years to secure the agreement of tennis officials to host a two-week, non-Big Slam tournament and then secure sufficient sponsorship for it; the last sponsorship contracts were signed on February 29, 1984, making possible the first tournament in 1985.

The Florida tournament, with its 128-player main draw, was the largest Pro Tour event at the start of the calendar year (the Australian Open was held in December at the time). The similarity with Grand Slam tournaments was reinforced by the fact that the men's matches were played to win in three sets, not two, as at most other events (later, the five-set format was retained only for the finals, and both the men's and women's nets were reduced to 96 players by skipping the first round for seeded competitors). All of this led the head of the International Tennis Federation, Philippe Chatrier, to believe that the Buchholz tournament could replace the Australian Open as the fourth Grand Slam tournament, although Buchholz himself has repeatedly stressed that this is not part of his plans. Through the efforts of journalists, the championship received the unofficial status of "Winter Wimbledon"; the organizers were able to attract the attention of the main men's and women's professional associations from the first draw, signing 15-year agreements with both organizations.

With the beginning of the era of professional tour grading competitions at the turn of the 1980s and 1990s, the Miami competition was one of the first to receive the highest category.

The first tournament under the prize was held on the courts of the Delray Beach Tennis Complex; a year later the competition moved to Boca Raton; but in both of these cities, which are highly regarded resorts, residents and vacationers complained of two weeks of hustle and bustle. Beginning in 1987, the tournament moved to Key Biscayne, where a Tennis Center was built for it away from residential areas, on the site of a former city dump. The tournament is traditionally played in March on hard courts.

In 2010, the tournament set a record for non-Big Slam tennis events with a total of 300,000 people watching its matches over the 12 days of the tournament, a result that has been further improved over time.

Winners and finalists

The men's singles records for most wins are held by American Andre Agassi (with six titles from 1990 to 2003) and Serbian Novak Djokovic, who also won six times from 2007 to 2016. In women's singles, Serena Williams of the United States won eight times and Steffi Graf of Germany won five titles. Six times the Americans Bob and Mike Bryan won the men's doubles tournament. The Australian pair Todd Woodbridge/Mark Woodford and the Belarusian Maksim Mirny did the same for four times. The women's doubles tournament has been won seven times by Czech Jana Novotna and five times by Spain's Aranche Sanchez-Vicario. Twice in the tournament's history a decisive match has not been played in either event - in 1986 in the men's doubles tournament and in 1989 in the men's singles tournament.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!