Metz Winners

The Metz Tournament, officially the Moselle Open, is a tennis tournament held in France on the ATP calendar in early October. It has been played on a hard surface since the 2003 season. It is currently on the men's calendar in the ATP 250 category.

France icon
surface image

Hard Court (Indoors)

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Metz Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
2003 France icon Arnaud Clément Chile icon Fernando González 6-3 1-6 6-3
2004 France icon Jérôme Haehnel France icon Richard Gasquet 7-6(9) 6-4
2005 Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić France icon Gaël Monfils 7-6(7) 6-0
2006 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Austria icon Jürgen Melzer 4-6 6-3 6-2
2007 Spain icon Tommy Robredo Great Britain icon Andy Murray 0-6 6-2 6-3
2008 Russia icon Dmitry Tursunov France icon Paul-Henri Mathieu 7-6(6) 1-6 6-4
2009 France icon Gaël Monfils Germany icon Philipp Kohlschreiber 7-6(1) 3-6 6-2
2010 France icon Gilles Simon Germany icon Mischa Zverev 6-3 6-2
2011 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 6-3 6-7(4) 6-3
2012 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Italy icon Andreas Seppi 6-1 6-2
2013 France icon Gilles Simon France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 6-4 6-3
2014 Belgium icon David Goffin Portugal icon João Sousa 6-4 6-3
2015 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga France icon Gilles Simon 7-6(5) 1-6 6-2
2016 France icon Lucas Pouille Austria icon Dominic Thiem 7-6(5) 6-2
2017 Germany icon Peter Gojowczyk France icon Benoît Paire 7-5 6-2
2018 France icon Gilles Simon Germany icon Matthias Bachinger 7-6(2) 6-1
2019 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Slovenia icon Aljaž Bedene 6-7(4) 7-6(4) 6-3


In the 1980s, Metz hosted the Grand Prix tournament five times (every two years). Grand Tennis returned to Metz in 2003, when the tournament previously held in Toulouse was moved there. The tournament in Toulouse was discontinued after an explosion at a local nitrogen fertilizer plant severely damaged the city's sports complex. The new tournament was given the basic ATP International category. The venue is the newly built Arènes de Metz Sports Complex, with a main court seating capacity of 4,500.
The tournament director is former professional tennis player Julien Boutté.

Winners and finalists

Over the years, the tournament in Metz was dominated by the home team. The French have won five singles titles in a row from 2009 to 2013, including Gilles Simon and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga twice each, and two more French victories came in the first draws of the tournament. With a win in 2019, Tsonga holds the record for most singles victories, bringing his total to four. Second is also Frenchman Gilles Simon, who took his third title in 2018.
In 2010 for the first time in the history of the doubles tournament there was not a single local pair in the finals.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!