Marrakesh Winners

The Marrakech Tournament, also called Grand Prix Hassan II, is a tennis tournament that is held annually in the Moroccan city of Marrakech since its 2016 edition, the previous venue being Casablanca. This event is played on clay. It is currently on the men's calendar in the ATP World Tour 250 category.

Morocco icon
surface image

Clay Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Marrakesh Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1990 Austria icon Thomas Muster Argentina  icon Guillermo Pérez-Roldán 6-1/ 6-7/ 6-2
1991 Not Held
1992 Argentina  icon Guillermo Pérez-Roldán Spain icon Germán López 2-6/ 7-5/ 6-3
1993 Argentina  icon Guillermo Pérez-Roldán Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui 6-4/ 6-3
1994 Italy icon Renzo Furlan Morocco icon Karim Alami 6-2/ 6-2
1995 Austria icon Gilbert Schaller Spain icon Albert Costa 6-4/ 6-2
1996 Spain icon Tomás Carbonell Austria icon Gilbert Schaller 7-5/ 1-6/ 6-2
1997 Morocco icon Hicham Arazi Argentina  icon Franco Squillari 3-6/ 6-1/ 6-2
1998 Italy icon Andrea Gaudenzi Spain icon Álex Calatrava 6-1/ 5-7/ 6-4
1999 Spain icon Alberto Martín Spain icon Fernando Vicente 6-3/ 6-4
2000 Spain icon Fernando Vicente France icon Sébastien Grosjean 6-4/ 4-6/ 7-6(3)
2001 Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas Spain icon Tommy Robredo 7-5/ 6-2
2002 Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas 3-6/ 6-3/ 6-2
2003 France icon Julien Boutter Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui 6-2/ 2-6/ 6-1
2004 Spain icon Santiago Ventura Slovaquia icon Dominik Hrbaty 6-3/ 1-6/ 6-4
2005 Argentina  icon Mariano Puerta Argentina  icon Juan Mónaco 6-4/ 6-1
2006 Italy icon Daniele Bracciali Chile icon Nicolás Massú 6-1/ 6-4
2007 France icon Paul-Henri Mathieu Spain icon Albert Montañés 6-1/ 6-1
2008 France icon Gilles Simon France icon Julien Benneteau 7-5/ 6-2
2009 Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero France icon Florent Serra 6-4/ 7-5
2010 Switzerland  icon Stan Wawrinka Romania icon Victor Hanescu 6-2/ 6-3
2011 Spain icon Pablo Andújar Italy icon Potito Starace 6-1/ 6-2
2012 Spain icon Pablo Andújar Spain icon Albert Ramos 6-1/ 7-6(5)
2013 Spain icon Tommy Robredo  Kevin Anderson 7-6(6)/ 4-6/ 6-3
2014 Spain icon Guillermo García-López Spain icon Marcel Granollers 5-7/ 6-4/ 6-3
2015 Slovaquia icon Martin Klizan Spain icon Daniel Gimeno Traver 6-2/ 6-2
2016 Argentina  icon Federico Delbonis Croatia icon Borna Ćorić 6-2/ 6-4
2017 Croatia icon Borna Ćorić Germany icon Philipp Kohlschreiber 5-7/ 7-6(3)/ 7-5
2018 Spain icon Pablo Andújar Great Britain icon Kyle Edmund 6-2/ 6-2
2019 France icon Benoît Paire Spain icon Pablo Andújar 6-2/ 6-3

General Information.

On the eve of the 1986 season, the Moroccan organizers bought a place on the calendar of the second most important professional men's tour, the ATP Challenger Series. After four years as part of this series, the tournament managed to be moved to the main ATP series. Since 1992, it has been one of its regular tournaments in the basic category. From its first year, the tournament was named after Hassan II, the current king of Morocco. After his death in the summer of 1999, the name was retained.

Winners and finalists

The singles tournament has been conquered three times by Spanish tennis player Pablo Andujar - in 2011-12 and 2018. Argentine Guillermo Perez-Roldan did it twice in 1992-93. The singles competition also accounts for the Moroccans' main successes at home: Younes El Ainaoui has played in the finals three times (and won one title), while Karim Alami and Hicham Arazi have played once each. The doubles tournament was conquered three times by Romanian tennis player Horia Tekeu, in 2010-11 and 2014. The Moroccans played in the doubles final once: Hicham Arazi and Karim Alami lost the tournament title match in 1997.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!