Madrid Winners

The Madrid Masters began as a tennis tournament held annually in Madrid (Spain), in the Madrid Arena pavilion (from 2002 to 2008) on a fast surface. Now, this event is part of the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 of the ATP men's circuit, being the fourth one to be held during the season; and its official name is Mutua Madrid Open, and it is now held in the Caja Mágica pavilion. Considering the men's tournament, since 2009 it is the fourth Masters 1000 of the year, and also since 2009 it is played on a clay surface.

Spain icon
surface image

Clay Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Madrid Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
2002 United States icon Andre Agassi Czech Republic icon Jiří Novák (walkover)
2003 Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero Chile icon Nicolás Massú 6–3 6–4 6–3
2004 Russia icon Marat Safin Argentina  icon David Nalbandian 6–2 6–4 6–3
2005 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 3–6 2–6 6–3 6–4 7–6(7–3)
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Chile icon Fernando González 7–5 6–1 6–0
2007 Argentina  icon David Nalbandian Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 1–6 6–3 6–3
2008 Great Britain icon Andy Murray France icon Gilles Simon 6–4 7–6(8–6)
2009 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6–4 6–4
2010 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (2) Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–4 7–6(7–5)
2011 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 7–5 6–4
2012 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (3) Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 3–6 7–5 7–5
2013 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (3) Switzerland  icon Stanislas Wawrinka 6–2 6–4
2014 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (4) Japan icon Kei Nishikori 2–6 6–4 3–0 (ret.)
2015 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (2) Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6–3 6–2
2016 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (2) Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6–2 3–6 6–3
2017 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (5) Austria icon Dominic Thiem 7–6(10–8) 6–4
2018 Germany icon Alexander Zverev Austria icon Dominic Thiem 6–4 6–4
2019 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (3) Greece icon Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–3 6–4
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

This European Masters Series tournament was organized in 1990, along with the formation of the series itself. The first years the tournament was held in Stockholm, Sweden. The competition was played in a hall on hard courts. On the eve of the 1995 season, the license of the Masters Series tournament was transferred to a competition in Germany. In the first year the tournament was held in Essen, and since 1996 the tournament was held in Stuttgart. On the eve of the 2002 season, the tournament was moved to Madrid for financial reasons. On the eve of the 2009 season, when the ATP calendar was reorganized, the tournament moved from late autumn to the second half of spring, taking its place in Hamburg. The organizers had to change the coverage - the tournament was held on clay outdoor courts of the Caja Magica complex. Also, the competition was complemented by the WTA women's tournament of the highest category.

In 2012, for the first time in the history of professional tennis for men and women the tournament was held not on the traditional European "red" soil, but on its blue analogue. Some leading players complained about the quality of the surface, and in 2013, the tournament was held on the conventional "red" soil.

Winners and finalists

The leader of the men's singles tournament in terms of victories is Spaniard Rafael Nadal, who has five wins to his credit. German Boris Becker has won four times, and two other players: Novak Djokovic of Serbia and Roger Federer of Switzerland won three titles each. Only Roger Federer managed to win the tournament on all surfaces, winning here in the indoor period, as well as on red and blue clay.

The women's singles tournament, despite its shorter history, already has one three-time winner. Petra Kvitova won in 2011, 2015 and 2018. Two female tennis players have won twice: Serena Williams won on local courts in 2012 and 2013 and Simona Halep won in 2016 and 2017. Maria Sharapova and Victoria Azarenka also played in title matches twice each, but together they managed to win only one title.

The men's doubles tournament was conquered five times by the Bryan brothers. Four titles were won by three other players: Todd Woodbridge and Mark Woodford won their prizes in Stockholm and Stuttgart, and Daniel Nestor took his titles only in Madrid.

The women's doubles tournament has only been conquered more than once by two female tennis players: Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci were the strongest on local courts in 2012 and 2014. Four other tennis players played in title matches twice each, but they managed to win only one title together - Cara Black lost the 2013 final after her overall victory in 2009.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!