Indian Wells Winners

The Indian Wells Masters is a tennis tournament held annually in Indian Wells, California, in the United States. This event is the first Masters 1000 on the men's tour, and the Premier Mandatory on the women's tour.

United States icon
surface image

Hard Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Indian Wells Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1974 Australia icon John Newcombe United States icon Arthur Ashe 6-3 7-6
1975 Australia icon John Alexander Romania icon Ilie Năstase 7-5 6-2
1976 United States icon Jimmy Connors United States icon Roscoe Tanner 6-4 6-4
1977 United States icon Brian Gottfried Argentina  icon Guillermo Vilas 2-6 6-1 6-3
1978 United States icon Roscoe Tanner Mexico icon Raúl Ramírez 6-1 7-6
1979 United States icon Roscoe Tanner United States icon Brian Gottfried 6-4 6-2
1980 Suspended
1981 United States icon Jimmy Connors Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 6-3 7-6
1982 France icon Yannick Noah Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 6-4 2-6 7-5
1983 Spain icon José Higueras United States icon Eliot Teltscher 6-4 6-2
1984 United States icon Jimmy Connors France icon Yannick Noah 6-2 6-7 6-3
1985 United States icon Larry Stefanki United States icon David Pate 6-1 6-4 3-6 6-3
1986 Sweden icon Joakim Nyström France icon Yannick Noah 6-1 6-3 6-2
1987 Germany icon Boris Becker Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6-4 6-4 7-5
1988 Germany icon Boris Becker Spain icon Emilio Sánchez Vicario 7-5 6-4 2-6 6-4
1989 Czech Republic icon Miloslav Mecir France icon Yannick Noah 3-6 2-6 6-1 6-2 6-3
1990 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg United States icon Andre Agassi 6-4 5-7 7-6 7-6
1991 United States icon Jim Courier France icon Guy Forget 4-6 6-3 4-6 6-3 7-6
1992 United States icon Michael Chang Russia icon Andréi Chesnokov 6-3 6-4 7-5
1993 United States icon Jim Courier  South Africa icon Wayne Ferreira 6-3 6-3 6-1
1994 United States icon Pete Sampras Czech Republic icon Petr Korda 4-6 6-3 3-6 6-3 6-2
1995 United States icon Pete Sampras United States icon Andre Agassi 7-5 6-3 7-5
1996 United States icon Michael Chang Netherlands  icon Paul Haarhuis 7-5 6-1 6-1
1997 United States icon Michael Chang Czech Republic icon Bohdan Ulihrach 4-6 6-3 6-4 6-3
1998 Chile icon Marcelo Ríos Great Britain icon Greg Rusedski 6-3 6-7 7-6 6-4
1999 Australia icon Mark Philippoussis Spain icon Carlos Moyá 5-7 6-4 6-4 4-6 6-2
2000 Spain icon Àlex Corretja Sweden icon Thomas Enqvist 6-4 6-4 6-3
2001 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Pete Sampras 7-5 7-5 6-1
2002 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Great Britain icon Tim Henman 6-1 6-2
2003 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten 6-1 6-1
2004 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Great Britain icon Tim Henman 6-3 6-3
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 6-2 6-4 6-4
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon James Blake 7-5 6-3 6-0
2007 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6-2 7-5
2008 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic United States icon Mardy Fish 6-2 5-7 6-3
2009 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6-1 6-2
2010 Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić United States icon Andy Roddick 7-6(3) 7-6(5)
2011 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 4-6 6-3 6-2
2012 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon John Isner 7-6(7) 6-3
2013 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro 4-6 6-3 6-4
2014 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 3-6 6-3 7-6(3)
2015 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6-3 6-7(5) 6-2
2016 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Canada icon Milos Raonic 6-2 6-0
2017 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Switzerland  icon Stanislas Wawrinka 6-4 7-5
2018 Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6-4 6-7(8) 7-6(2)
2019 Austria icon Dominic Thiem Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 3-6 6-3 7-5
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

The tournament, which since 2009 has been sponsored by French banking giant BNP Paribas, was founded before the 1974 season in the Arizona town of Tucson and was originally played only as a men's Grand Prix tour event. In 1989, the event was supplemented by a women's tournament, but until 1996, the competition was played in two stages - first the women's event and only then the men's event. All prizes were held on hard surface.

Unlike many of its counterparts, the history of the tournament does not belong to a single tennis center: it was held in Tucson for only two years before the tournament was moved to Palm Springs (three events), then to Rancho Mirage (two events with the second being upset by heavy rains at the end of game week), La Quinta (six events) and finally, since 1987, to Indian Wells. In 2000, the last move in the tournament's history took place - the USTA, after spending $77 million, built the nearby Indian Wells Tennis Garden complex (its grandstands can seat 16,000 spectators at a time).

Today, the tournament is part of two of the most prestigious professional tennis series in the world: the men's event is part of the ATP Masters 1000 World Tour series, while the women's event is part of the WTA Premier Mandatory series. The prize pools of both events are second only to Grand Slam tournaments, with singles tournaments also played in seven rounds, but the 32 seeded competitors start in the second round.

Scandal of 2001 In 2001, fans, fueled by much-discussed rumors about the unsportsmanlike nature of the outcome of the games between the Williams sisters and the fact that Venus, withdrew at the very last moment before her match against her younger sister in the singles semifinals, gave the Williams family an outcry before the final game of the tournament, where Serena played Belgian Kim Clijsters. The action also partially resulted in a verbal altercation between onlookers and the sisters' father. After some time, after thinking hard about what happened, the Williams family decided to boycott the tournament. Later, several times the parties tried to come to an amicable agreement, but the sisters did not appear at local competitions until 2015, when Serena played a local competition again.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!