Houston Winners

The Houston Tournament or U.S. Men's Clay Court Championships, is a tennis tournament corresponding to the ATP World Tour 250 series that is played annually at the River Oaks Country Club in the city of Houston, Texas, United States. The tournament is the only one in North America that is played on slow courts.

United States icon
surface image

Clay Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Houston Champions

Year City Champions Runners-up Score
1970 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Cliff Richey United States icon Stan Smith 6–2- 10–8- 3–6- 6–1
1971 Indianapolis- Indiana Yugoslavia icon Željko Franulović United States icon Cliff Richey 6–3- 6–4- 0–6- 6–3
1972 Indianapolis- Indiana  South Africa icon Bob Hewitt United States icon Jimmy Connors 7–6- 6–1- 6–2
1973 Indianapolis- Indiana Spain icon Manuel Orantes France icon Georges Goven 6–4- 6–1- 6–4
1974 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Jimmy Connors Sweden icon Björn Borg 5–7- 6–3- 6–4
1975 Indianapolis- Indiana Spain icon Manuel Orantes United States icon Arthur Ashe 6–2- 6–2
1976 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Jimmy Connors Poland icon Wojtek Fibak 6–2- 6–4
1977 Indianapolis- Indiana Spain icon Manuel Orantes United States icon Jimmy Connors 6–1- 6–3
1978 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Jimmy Connors Spain icon José Higueras 7–5- 6–1
1979 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Jimmy Connors Argentina  icon Guillermo Vilas 6–1- 2–6- 6–4
1980 Indianapolis- Indiana Argentina  icon José Luis Clerc United States icon Mel Purcell 7–5- 6–3
1981 Indianapolis- Indiana Argentina  icon José Luis Clerc Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 4–6- 6–4- 6–2
1982 Indianapolis- Indiana Spain icon José Higueras United States icon Jimmy Arias 7–5- 5–7- 6–3
1983 Indianapolis- Indiana United States icon Jimmy Arias Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez 6–4- 2–6- 6–4
1984 Indianapolis- Indiana Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez Hungary icon Balázs Taróczy 6–0- 7–6
1985 Indianapolis- Indiana Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez 6–1- 6–3
1986 Indianapolis- Indiana Ecuador icon Andrés Gómez (2) France icon Thierry Tulasne 6–4- 7–6
1987 Indianapolis- Indiana Sweden icon Mats Wilander Sweden icon Kent Carlsson 7–5- 6–3
1988 Charleston- South Carolina United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Jimmy Arias 6–2- 6–2
1989 Charleston- South Carolina United States icon Jay Berger United States icon Lawson Duncan 6–4- 6–3
1990 Kiawah Island- South Carolina United States icon David Wheaton  South Africa icon Mark Kaplan 6–4- 6–4
1991 Charlotte- North Carolina Peru icon Jaime Yzaga United States icon Jimmy Arias 6–3- 7–5
1992 Charlotte- North Carolina United States icon MaliVai Washington Switzerland  icon Claudio Mezzadri 6–3- 6–3
1993 Charlotte- North Carolina Argentina  icon Horacio de la Peña Peru icon Jaime Yzaga 3–6- 6–3- 6–4
1994 Birmingham- Alabama Australia icon Jason Stoltenberg Argentina  icon Gabriel Markus 6–3- 6–4
1995 Pinehurst- North Carolina Sweden icon Thomas Enqvist Argentina  icon Javier Frana 6–3- 3–6- 6–3
1996 Pinehurst- North Carolina Brazil icon Fernando Meligeni Sweden icon Mats Wilander 6–4- 6–2
1997 Orlando- Florida United States icon Michael Chang  South Africa icon Grant Stafford 4–6- 6–2- 6–1
1998 Orlando- Florida United States icon Jim Courier United States icon Michael Chang 7–5- 3–6- 7–5
1999 Orlando- Florida Sweden icon Magnus Norman Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas 6–0- 6–3
2000 Orlando- Florida Chile icon Fernando González Chile icon Nicolás Massú 6–2- 6–3
2001 Houston- Texas United States icon Andy Roddick  Hyung-Taik Lee 7–5- 6–3
2002 Houston- Texas United States icon Andy Roddick (2) United States icon Pete Sampras 7–6(11–9)- 6–3
2003 Houston- Texas United States icon Andre Agassi (2) United States icon Andy Roddick 3–6- 6–3- 6–4
2004 Houston- Texas Germany icon Tommy Haas United States icon Andy Roddick 6–3- 6–4
2005 Houston- Texas United States icon Andy Roddick (3) France icon Sébastien Grosjean 6–2- 6–2
2006 Houston- Texas United States icon Mardy Fish Austria icon Jürgen Melzer 3–6- 6–4- 6–3
2007 Houston- Texas Croatia icon Ivo Karlović Argentina  icon Mariano Zabaleta 6–4- 6–1
2008 Houston- Texas Spain icon Marcel Granollers United States icon James Blake 6–4- 1–6- 7–5
2009 Houston- Texas Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt United States icon Wayne Odesnik 6–2- 7–5
2010 Houston- Texas Argentina  icon Juan Ignacio Chela United States icon Sam Querrey 5–7- 6–4- 6–3
2011 Houston- Texas United States icon Ryan Sweeting Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6–4- 7–6(7–3)
2012 Houston- Texas Argentina  icon Juan Mónaco United States icon John Isner 6–2- 3–6- 6–3
2013 Houston- Texas United States icon John Isner Spain icon Nicolás Almagro 6–3- 7–5
2014 Houston- Texas Spain icon Fernando Verdasco Spain icon Nicolás Almagro 6–3- 7–6(7–4)
2015 Houston- Texas United States icon Jack Sock United States icon Sam Querrey 7–6(11–9)- 7–6(7–2)
2016 Houston- Texas Argentina  icon Juan Mónaco (2) United States icon Jack Sock 3–6- 6–3- 7–5
2017 Houston- Texas United States icon Steve Johnson Brazil icon Thomaz Bellucci 6–4- 4–6- 7–6(7–5)
2018 Houston- Texas United States icon Steve Johnson (2) United States icon Tennys Sandgren 7–6(7–2)- 2–6- 6–4
2019 Houston- Texas Chile icon Christian Garín Norway icon Casper Ruud 7–6(7–4)- 4–6- 6–3

General Information

The U.S. Men's Tennis Championships have been held on clay courts since 1910. It was first held in Omaha. Since then, the venue has changed every few years. Since the beginning of the Open Era, the tournament has been held in eight different cities, including Indianapolis (until 1987), Orlando (1997-2000), and Houston (since 2001, of which the Westside Tennis and Fitness Center courts until 2007). Over time, the tournament has shifted in the calendar as well: while in the 1980s it was still held in the summer before the US Open, by the time it moved to Houston, it was already part of the clay season, representing the preparation phase for the French Open. In 2008, the US Open on clay courts was combined with another Houston tournament, River Oaks International, which had been held since 1931. Over the years in Houston, the U.S. Clay Court Championships has twice been recognized by the ATP as the best tournament in the ATP International category.

Winners and finalists

Bill Tilden won the most U.S. clay-court titles, winning the tournament in 1918 and then six more times in a row from 1922 to 1927. After the Open Era began, Jimmy Connors was the most titled participant in the U.S. Clay-Court Championship, winning it four times. Andy Roddick (who played five consecutive finals) and Manuel Orantes won the tournament three times. In doubles in the Open Era, Bob and Mike Bryan won the most titles, winning the tournament six times between 2007 and 2016.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!