Halle Winners

The Halle Tournament, officially the Noventi Open, is a tennis tournament corresponding to the ATP World Tour 500 that is played annually in the small German town of Halle, Westphalia.

Germany icon
surface image

Grass Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Halle Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
1993 France icon Henri Leconte Ukraine icon Andrei Medvedev 6–2 6–3
1994 Germany icon Michael Stich Sweden icon Magnus Larsson 6–4 4–6 6–3
1995 Switzerland  icon Marc Rosset Germany icon Michael Stich 3–6 7–6(13–11) 7–6(10–8)
1996 Sweden icon Nicklas Kulti Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov 6–7(5–7) 6–3 6–4
1997 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov Czech Republic icon Petr Korda 7–6(7–2) 6–7(5–7) 7–6(9–7)
1998 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov (2) Sweden icon Magnus Larsson 6–4 6–4
1999 Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer Sweden icon Nicklas Kulti 6–3 6–2
2000 Germany icon David Prinosil Netherlands  icon Richard Krajicek 6–3 6–2
2001 Sweden icon Thomas Johansson France icon Fabrice Santoro 6–3 6–7(5–7) 6–2
2002 Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov (3) Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer 2–6 6–4 6–4
2003 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer 6–1 6–3
2004 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) United States icon Mardy Fish 6–0 6–3
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (3) Russia icon Marat Safin 6–4 6–7(6–8) 6–4
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (4) Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 6–0 6–7(4–7) 6–2
2007 Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych Cyprus icon Marcos Baghdatis 7–5 6–4
2008 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (5) Germany icon Philipp Kohlschreiber 6–3 6–4
2009 Germany icon Tommy Haas Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6–3 6–7(4–7) 6–1
2010 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 3–6 7–6(7–4) 6–4
2011 Germany icon Philipp Kohlschreiber Germany icon Philipp Petzschner 7–6(7–5) 2–0 retired
2012 Germany icon Tommy Haas (2) Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 7–6(7–5) 6–4
2013 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (6) Russia icon Mikhail Youzhny 6–7(5–7) 6–3 6–4
2014 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (7) Colombia icon Alejandro Falla 7–6(7–2) 7–6(7–3)
2015 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (8) Italy icon Andreas Seppi 7–6(7–1) 6–4
2016 Germany icon Florian Mayer Germany icon Alexander Zverev 6–2 5–7 6–3
2017 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (9) Germany icon Alexander Zverev 6–1 6–3
2018 Croatia icon Borna Ćorić Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 7–6(8–6) 3–6 6–2
2019 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (10) Belgium icon David Goffin 7–6(7–2) 6–1
2020 Not held COVID 19

General Information

The German prize was founded on the eve of the 1993 season as part of the expansion of the series of tournaments on this surface in the pre-Imbledon period of the calendar. The first prize had a basic association main tour category.

In 2000, the championship in Hull was selected as the "tournament of the year" in the ATP International category.

In 2015, as part of the expansion of the grass section of the calendar, the tournament's status was upgraded by one notch of the calendar's grading.

Winners and finalists

The tournament's record holder in terms of titles is Roger Federer, who has won the tournament ten times in singles, including four in a row between 2003 and 2006. Federer also won the doubles tournament in 2005 when his compatriot Yves Allegro was his partner. Evgeny Kafelnikov is a three-time singles tournament winner. The biggest number of doubles titles went to Raven Klasen (three titles). Two titles each for Jonas Bjorkman, Mikhail Youzhny, Aysam-ul-Haq Qureshi, Julian Knowle, Rajiv Rahm, Lukas Kubota and Marcelo Melo.

German tennis players have won seven times at home in singles: the first in 1994 was Michael Stich, and the last time, in 2016, Florian Maier. Seven German tennis players are also doubles champions.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!