Geneva Winners

The Geneva Open (officially called the Gonet Geneva Open) is a tennis tournament included in the men's calendar in the ATP World Tour 250 category in Geneva, Switzerland, on clay courts.

Switzerland icon
surface image

Clay Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Geneva Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
1980 Hungary icon Balázs Taróczy Italy icon Adriano Panatta 6–3 6–2
1981 Sweden icon Björn Borg Czech Republic icon Tomáš Šmíd 6–4 6–3
1982 Sweden icon Mats Wilander Czech Republic icon Tomáš Šmíd 7–5 4–6 6–4
1983 Sweden icon Mats Wilander Sweden icon Henrik Sundström 3–6 6–1 6–3
1984 United States icon Aaron Krickstein Sweden icon Henrik Sundström 6–7 6–1 6–4
1985 Czech Republic icon Tomáš Šmíd Sweden icon Mats Wilander 6–4 6–4
1986 France icon Henri Leconte France icon Thierry Tulasne 7–5 6–3
1987 Switzerland  icon Claudio Mezzadri Czech Republic icon Tomáš Šmíd 6–4 7–5
1988 Czech Republic icon Marián Vajda Sweden icon Kent Carlsson 6–4 6–4
1989 Switzerland  icon Marc Rosset Argentina  icon Guillermo Pérez Roldán 6–4 7–5
1990 Austria icon Horst Skoff Spain icon Sergi Bruguera 7–6 7–6
1991 Austria icon Thomas Muster Austria icon Horst Skoff 6–2 6–4
2015 Brazil icon Thomaz Bellucci Portugal icon João Sousa 7–6(7–4) 6–4
2016 Switzerland  icon Stan Wawrinka Croatia icon Marin Čilić 6–4 7–6(13–11)
2017 Switzerland  icon Stan Wawrinka Germany icon Mischa Zverev 4–6 6–3 6–3
2018 Hungary icon Márton Fucsovics Germany icon Peter Gojowczyk 6–2 6–2
2019 Germany icon Alexander Zverev Chile icon Nicolás Jarry 6–3 3–6 7–6(10–8)
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

In the Grand Prix series, the Geneva tournament appeared in 1980 and was held in September until 1991. It reappeared on the ATP World Tour calendar in 2015, taking place in the last week before the French Open. The competition replaced the Düsseldorf Open in the calendar.

Winners and finalists

Winning more than once in singles at the tournament came from Sweden's Mats Wielander, who won twice at the tournament in 1982 and 1983, and Switzerland's Stanislas Wawrinka, who won at the tournament in 2016 and 2017. Wilander also managed one doubles victory in 1984. Hungarian Balazs Taroci also won three titles in all categories, winning once in singles (1980) and twice in doubles (1980, 1981). In doubles, the duo of Oliver Marach and Mate Pavich (2018, 2019) won two titles. The Swiss and Swedish representatives won the singles titles three times each.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!