Eastbourne Winners

The Eastbourne Tournament is a men's tennis tournament held annually in the English city of Eastbourne in mid-June and is played on grass. It belongs to the men's ATP 250 category.

Great Britain icon
surface image

Grass Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Eastbourne Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1972 Spain icon Andrés Gimeno France icon Pierre Barthes 7-5 6-3
1973 Great Britain icon Mark Cox France icon Patrice Dominguez 6-2 2-6 6-3
2009 Russia icon Dmitry Tursunov Canada icon Frank Dancevic 6-3 7-6(5)
2010 France icon Michael Llodra Spain icon Guillermo García-López 7-5 6-2
2011 Italy icon Andreas Seppi Serbia icon Janko Tipsarevic 7-6(5) 3-6 5-3 ret.
2012 United States icon Andy Roddick Italy icon Andreas Seppi 6-3 6-2
2013 Spain icon Feliciano López France icon Gilles Simon 7-6(2) 6-7(5) 6-0
2014 Spain icon Feliciano López France icon Richard Gasquet 6-3 6-7(5) 7-5
2015-16 Not Held
2017 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic France icon Gaël Monfils 6-3 6-4
2018 Germany icon Mischa Zverev Slovakia icon Lukáš Lacko 6-4 6-4
2019 United States icon Taylor Fritz United States icon Sam Querrey 6-3 6-4

General Information

The first women's tennis tournament was held in Eastbourne in 1974, a year after the regular women's tournament in London was discontinued. The event, on the calendar immediately before the Wimbledon tournament, began on a Friday and lasted only six days, making it different from other weekly tournaments. Another difference was the players' party and talent contest, making the Eastbourne tournament one of the most popular on the Virginia Slims tour.
The tournament has had numerous sponsors, with Pilkington being the longest-serving sponsor (eight years). Since 2009, insurance company AEGON has sponsored the tournament, along with several other tournaments in the UK.
From 2009 to 2014, due to financial problems at the neighboring tournament in Nottingham, the Eastbourne women's prize was supplemented by the men's championship.

Winners and finalists

The absolute record holder of the tournament in terms of titles is Martina Navratilova, who won it 11 times in singles and six times in doubles. All six times her partner was Pam Shriver. Lisa Raymond (with three different partners) won five times in doubles. Natalia Zvereva and Larisa Savchenko have won four doubles tournaments, and twice they did it together, while Zvereva has also won a singles tournament once. In addition to Navratilova, Chris Evert won the most singles titles - three.
The only hostess to win them was Virginia Wade in 1975. She played in the singles finals twice more. Joe Dury (twice) and Ann Hobbs were in the doubles finals.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!