Dubai Winners

The Dubai Tournament, officially The Barclays Dubai Tennis Championships in the men's category, is a professional ATP World Tour 500 tennis tournament held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, on a hard court.

UAE icon
surface image

Hard Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Dubai Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
1993 Czech Republic icon Karel Nováček France icon Fabrice Santoro 6–4 7–5
1994 Sweden icon Magnus Gustafsson Spain icon Sergi Bruguera 6–4 6–2
1995  Wayne Ferreira Italy icon Andrea Gaudenzi 6–3 6–3
1996 Croatia icon Goran Ivanišević Spain icon Albert Costa 6–4 6–3
1997 Austria icon Thomas Muster Croatia icon Goran Ivanišević 7–5 7–6(7–3)
1998 Spain icon Àlex Corretja Spain icon Félix Mantilla 7–6(7–0) 6–1
1999 France icon Jérôme Golmard Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer 6–4 6–2
2000 Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero 7–5 4–6 6–3
2001 Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero Russia icon Marat Safin 6–2 3–1 retired
2002 France icon Fabrice Santoro Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui 6–4 3–6 6–3
2003 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Czech Republic icon Jiří Novák 6–1 7–6(7–2)
2004 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) Spain icon Feliciano López 4–6 6–1 6–2
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (3) Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 6–1 6–7(6–8) 6–3
2006 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 2–6 6–4 6–4
2007 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (4) Russia icon Mikhail Youzhny 6–4 6–3
2008 United States icon Andy Roddick Spain icon Feliciano López 6–7(8–10) 6–4 6–2
2009 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon David Ferrer 7–5 6–3
2010 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (2) Russia icon Mikhail Youzhny 7–5 5–7 6–3
2011 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (3) Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–3 6–3
2012 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (5) Great Britain icon Andy Murray 7–5 6–4
2013 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (4) Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 7–5 6–3
2014 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (6) Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 3–6 6–4 6–3
2015 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (7) Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6–3 7–5
2016 Switzerland  icon Stan Wawrinka Cyprus icon Marcos Baghdatis 6–4 7–6(15–13)
2017 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Spain icon Fernando Verdasco 6–3 6–2
2018 Spain icon Roberto Bautista Agut France icon Lucas Pouille 6–3 6–4
2019 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (8) Greece icon Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–4 6–4
2020 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (5) Greece icon Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–3 6–4

General Information

The Dubai event was organized as a men's tournament on the eve of the 1993 season, when the local organizers bought the ATP Basic Tour championship license from a prize in Maceio, Brazil. The new prize became part of the near-European hard-court series, located in the calendar between the Australian Open and the major championship in Indian Wells. In 2001, the organizers managed to raise the status of their prize by one notch when the organizers of the tournament in London, experiencing problems with finding a new title sponsor, were forced first to voluntarily lower the status of their championship, and later to move it to Milan. That same year, the Dubai prize expanded its competition by organizing a women's prize within itself: the local organizers took advantage of the financial problems of another European prize - in Hanover, Germany - by buying its license of the WTA's second category. A few years later, the Dubaiis, along with their neighbors from Qatar, were able to buy a more prestigious category from the association - the WTA Premier 5, having agreed on a mutual rotation of this status between their tournaments with a three-year cycle: the turn of the UAE tournament first came in 2009-11.

One of the leaders of the competition is the Emir of Dubai Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum.

Winners and finalists

The men's singles record holder for most wins is Switzerland's Roger Federer, who won the local title eight times between 2003 and 2019. Novak Djokovic of Serbia holds four titles. The women's similar prize is more varied in the number of winners, but even here there are multiple champions: Justine Henin has four wins and Venus Williams three.

In the men's doubles competition, Indian Mahesh Bhupathi has five wins, and three more times his compatriot Rohan Bopanna became the strongest on the local court (in 2012 the Indians won the local tournament as a team). In women's competition, the sole record holder in the number of victories is South Africa's Liselle Huber, who has won the title five times on local courts, including three times - together with Zimbabwe's Cara Black.

Since the tournament's inception, only one title match - in the men's singles competition in 2001 - has ended in an early victory for one of its opponents: Marat Safin failed to finish the game against Juan Carlos Ferrero.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!