Doha Winners

The Doha Tournament, officially the Qatar ExxonMobil Open for sponsorship reasons, is a professional tennis tournament held on hard courts. It is held during the first week of the annual ATP calendar at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha, Qatar. It is the third ATP tournament to be held this year. It has been included in the ATP circuit calendar since 1993.

Qatar icon
surface image

Hard Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Doha Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
1993 Germany icon Boris Becker Croatia icon Goran Ivanišević 7–6(7–4) 4–6 7–5
1994 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg Netherlands  icon Paul Haarhuis 6–3 6–2
1995 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg (2) Sweden icon Magnus Larsson 7–6(7–4) 6–1
1996 Czech Republic icon Petr Korda Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui 7–6(7–5) 2–6 7–6(7–5)
1997 United States icon Jim Courier Great Britain icon Tim Henman 7–5 6–7(5–7) 6–2
1998 Czech Republic icon Petr Korda (2) France icon Fabrice Santoro 6–0 6–3
1999 Germany icon Rainer Schüttler Great Britain icon Tim Henman 6–4 5–7 6–1
2000 France icon Fabrice Santoro Germany icon Rainer Schüttler 3–6 7–5 3–0 ret.
2001 Chile icon Marcelo Ríos Czech Republic icon Bohdan Ulihrach 6–3 2–6 6–3
2002 Morocco icon Younes El Aynaoui Spain icon Félix Mantilla 4–6 6–2 6–2
2003 Austria icon Stefan Koubek United States icon Jan-Michael Gambill 6–4 6–4
2004 France icon Nicolas Escudé Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 6–3 7–6(7–4)
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić 6–3 6–1
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) France icon Gaël Monfils 6–3 7–6(7–5)
2007 Croatia icon Ivan Ljubičić Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6–4 6–4
2008 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Switzerland  icon Stanislas Wawrinka 6–4 4–6 6–2
2009 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (2) United States icon Andy Roddick 6–4 6–2
2010 Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko Spain icon Rafael Nadal 0–6 7–6(10–8) 6–4
2011 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (3) Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko 6–3 6–4
2012 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga France icon Gaël Monfils 7–5 6–3
2013 France icon Richard Gasquet Russia icon Nikolay Davydenko 3–6 7–6(7–4) 6–3
2014 Spain icon Rafael Nadal France icon Gaël Monfils 6–1 6–7(5–7) 6–2
2015 Spain icon David Ferrer Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 6–4 7–5
2016 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6–1 6–2
2017 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (2) Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6–3 5–7 6–4
2018 France icon Gaël Monfils Russia icon Andrey Rublev 6–2 6–3
2019 Spain icon Roberto Bautista Agut Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 6–4 3–6 6–3
2020 Russia icon Andrey Rublev France icon Corentin Moutet 6–2 7–6(7–3)

General Information

The Doha competition was created on the eve of the 1993 season as part of an expansion of the preparatory series for the Australian Open. The closeness of the competition to the European tennis development centers and the largest in the series of tournaments in the basic category of the Association's main tour has allowed the organizers to assemble a very strong lineup year after year. Since 2009, an additional warm-up exhibition tournament has been organized in nearby Abu Dhabi.

Winners and finalists

Roger Federer holds the singles record for the Qatar Prize, winning three titles on the local courts. Stefan Edberg, Petr Korda and Andy Murray won two. Rafael Nadal has won four doubles titles with three different partners. Mark Knowles and Mark Lopez have won three titles each. The doubles tournament often ended with victories for mono-national pairs: in their first 23 years, they won 15 titles at once. In addition to victories of mono-national pairs, female players from the same country often played in the finals of the tournament: both of these cases were in singles tournaments.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!