Cincinnati Winners

The Cincinnati Masters is a tennis tournament held annually in the Cincinnati suburb of Mason, Ohio. The event takes place in a complex located near the Kings Island theme park, and is part of the ATP Masters 1000, the seventh to be held in the season. It serves as a preparation for the U.S. Open, and is held after the Canadian Masters.

United States icon
surface image

Hard Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Cincinnati Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1970 Australia icon Ken Rosewall United States icon Cliff Richey 7-9 9-7 8-6
1971 United States icon Stan Smith Spain icon Juan Gisbert Sr. 7-6 6-3
1972 United States icon Jimmy Connors Argentina  icon Guillermo Vilas 6-3 6-3
1973 Romania icon Ilie Nastase Spain icon Manuel Orantes 5-7 6-3 6-4
1974 United States icon Marty Riessen United States icon Robert Lutz 7-6 7-6
1975 United States icon Tom Gorman United States icon Sherwood Stewart 7-5 2-6 6-4
1976 United States icon Roscoe Tanner United States icon Eddie Dibbs 7-6 6-3
1977 United States icon Harold Solomon Great Britain icon Mark Cox 6-2 6-3
1978 United States icon Eddie Dibbs Mexico icon Raúl Ramírez 5-7 6-3 6-2
1979 United States icon Peter Fleming United States icon Roscoe Tanner 6-4 6-2
1980 United States icon Harold Solomon Paraguay icon Francisco González 7-6 6-3
1981 United States icon John McEnroe New Zealand icon Chris Lewis 6-3 6-4
1982 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl United States icon Steve Denton 6-2 7-6
1983 Sweden icon Mats Wilander United States icon John McEnroe 6-4 6-4
1984 Sweden icon Mats Wilander Sweden icon Anders Jarryd 7-6 6-3
1985 Germany icon Boris Becker Sweden icon Mats Wilander 6-4 6-2
1986 Sweden icon Mats Wilander United States icon Jimmy Connors 6-4 6-1
1987 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg Germany icon Boris Becker 6-4 6-1
1988 Sweden icon Mats Wilander Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 3-6 7-6 7-6
1989 United States icon Brad Gilbert Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6-4 2-6 7-6
1990 Sweden icon Stefan Edberg United States icon Brad Gilbert 6-1 6-1
1991 France icon Guy Forget United States icon Pete Sampras 2-6 7-6 6-4
1992 United States icon Pete Sampras United States icon Ivan Lendl 6-3 3-6 6-3
1993 United States icon Michael Chang Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 7-5 0-6 6-4
1994 United States icon Michael Chang Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6-2 7-5
1995 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Michael Chang 7-5 6-2
1996 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Michael Chang 7-6 6-4
1997 United States icon Pete Sampras Austria icon Thomas Muster 6-3 6-4
1998 Australia icon Patrick Rafter United States icon Pete Sampras 1-6 7-6 6-4
1999 United States icon Pete Sampras Australia icon Patrick Rafter 7-6 6-3
2000 Sweden icon Thomas Enqvist Great Britain icon Tim Henman 7-6 6-4
2001 Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten Australia icon Patrick Rafter 6-1 6-3
2002 Spain icon Carlos Moyá Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 7-5 7-6
2003 United States icon Andy Roddick United States icon Mardy Fish 4-6 7-6 7-6
2004 United States icon Andre Agassi Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt 6-3 3-6 6-2
2005 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon Andy Roddick 6-3 7-5
2006 United States icon Andy Roddick Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero 6-3 6-4
2007 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon James Blake 6-1 6-4
2008 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 7-6 7-6
2009 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6-1 7-5
2010 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon Mardy Fish 6-7 7-6 6-4
2011 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6-4 3-0 ret.
2012 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6-0 7-6
2013 Spain icon Rafael Nadal United States icon John Isner 7-6(8) 7-6(3)
2014 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Spain icon David Ferrer 6-3 1-6 6-2
2015 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 7-6(1) 6-3
2016 Croatia icon Marin Čilić Great Britain icon Andy Murray 6-4 7-5
2017 Bulgaria icon Grigor Dimitrov Australia icon Nick Kyrgios 6-3 7-5
2018 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6-4 6-4
2019 Russia icon Daniil Medvédev Belgium icon David Goffin 7-6(3) 6-4
2020 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Canada icon Milos Raonic 1-6 6-3 6-4

General Information

The tournament began in September 1899 and is today the oldest tournament in the United States to be held in its original location. However, the competition has moved several times: the first tournament was held on the courts of the Avondale Athletic Club, and since 1979 the competition has been held at the Lindner Family Tennis Center. Until that year, most of the tournament was played on clay courts.

In 1978-89 the tournament had the status of the main event of the men's professional Grand Prix Tour.

The tournaments have been held since 1899, but while the men's competition (like the tournament itself) has not been held only three times during that time (most recently in 1935), the women's competition has had an extra pause in the late 20th century, when it was held only once between 1974 and 2003.

In 2020, the tournament was held in New York City because of a pandemic coronavirus infection to cut down on tennis players' travels and hold the event at the same location as the U.S. Open the following week.

The tournament is now part of the US Open Series and also belongs to the two senior categories of men's and women's professional tour competition, the ATP Masters 1000 and the WTA Premier 5.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!