Canada Winners

The Masters of Canada is a tennis tournament that takes place annually and alternately in the cities of Montreal and Toronto in Canada. This event is part of the ATP Masters 1000 on the men's tour, and is a Premier 5 women's circuit event. It serves as a preparation for the U.S. Open.

Canada icon
surface image

Hard Court

masters 1000 image

Official Website

All Canada Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
1969 United States icon Cliff Richey United States icon Earl Butch Buchholz 6–4 5–7 6–4 6–0
1970 Australia icon Rod Laver Great Britain icon Roger Taylor 6–0 4–6 6–3
1971 Australia icon John Newcombe Netherlands  icon Tom Okker 7–6 3–6 6–2 7–6
1972 Romania icon Ilie Năstase  Andrew Pattison 6–4 6–3
1973 Netherlands  icon Tom Okker Spain icon Manuel Orantes 6–3 6–2 6–1
1974 Argentina  icon Guillermo Vilas Spain icon Manuel Orantes 6–4 6–2 6–3
1975 Spain icon Manuel Orantes Romania icon Ilie Năstase 7–6(7–4) 6–0 6–1
1976 Argentina  icon Guillermo Vilas (2) Poland icon Wojtek Fibak 6–4 7–6 6–2
1977 United States icon Jeff Borowiak Chile icon Jaime Fillol 6–0 6–1
1978 United States icon Eddie Dibbs Argentina  icon José Luis Clerc 5–7 6–4 6–1
1979 Sweden icon Björn Borg United States icon John McEnroe 6–3 6–3
1980 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl Sweden icon Björn Borg 4–6 5–4 (ret.)
1981 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl (2) United States icon Eliot Teltscher 6–3 6–2
1982 United States icon Vitas Gerulaitis Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 4–6 6–1 6–3
1983 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl (3) Sweden icon Anders Järryd 6–2 6–2
1984 United States icon John McEnroe United States icon Vitas Gerulaitis 6–0 6–3
1985 United States icon John McEnroe (2) Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl 7–5 6–3
1986 Germany icon Boris Becker Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6–4 3–6 6–3
1987 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl (4) Sweden icon Stefan Edberg 6–4 7–6
1988 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl (5) United States icon Kevin Curren 7–6 6–2
1989 Czech Republic icon Ivan Lendl (6) United States icon John McEnroe 6–1 6–3
1990 United States icon Michael Chang United States icon Jay Berger 4–6 6–3 7–6(7–2)
1991 Soviet Union icon Andrei Chesnokov Czech Republic icon Petr Korda 3–6 6–4 6–3
1992 United States icon Andre Agassi United States icon Ivan Lendl 3–6 6–2 6–0
1993 Sweden icon Mikael Pernfors United States icon Todd Martin 2–6 6–2 7–5
1994 United States icon Andre Agassi (2) Australia icon Jason Stoltenberg 6–4 6–4
1995 United States icon Andre Agassi (3) United States icon Pete Sampras 3–6 6–2 6–3
1996  South Africa icon Wayne Ferreira Australia icon Todd Woodbridge 6–2 6–4
1997 United States icon Chris Woodruff Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten 7–5 4–6 6–3
1998 Australia icon Patrick Rafter Netherlands  icon Richard Krajicek 7–6(7–3) 6–4
1999 Sweden icon Thomas Johansson Russia icon Yevgeny Kafelnikov 1–6 6–3 6–3
2000 Russia icon Marat Safin Israel icon Harel Levy 6–2 6–3
2001 Romania icon Andrei Pavel Australia icon Patrick Rafter 7–6(7–3) 2–6 6–3
2002 Argentina  icon Guillermo Cañas United States icon Andy Roddick 6–4 7–5
2003 United States icon Andy Roddick Argentina  icon David Nalbandian 6–1 6–3
2004 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer United States icon Andy Roddick 7–5 6–3
2005 Spain icon Rafael Nadal United States icon Andre Agassi 6–3 4–6 6–2
2006 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer (2) France icon Richard Gasquet 2–6 6–3 6–2
2007 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 7–6(7–2) 2–6 7–6(7–2)
2008 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (2) Germany icon Nicolas Kiefer 6–3 6–2
2009 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro 6–7(4–7) 7–6(7–3) 6–1
2010 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (2) Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 7–5 7–5
2011 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (2) United States icon Mardy Fish 6–2 3–6 6–4
2012 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (3) France icon Richard Gasquet 6–3 6–2
2013 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (3) Canada icon Milos Raonic 6–2 6–2
2014 France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 7–5 7–6(7–3)
2015 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (3) Serbia icon Novak Djokovic 6–4 4–6 6–3
2016 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic (4) Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6–3 7–5
2017 Germany icon Alexander Zverev Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–3 6–4
2018 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (4) Greece icon Stefanos Tsitsipas 6–2 7–6(7–4)
2019 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (5) Russia icon Daniil Medvedev 6–3 6–0
2020 Not Held COVID-19

General Information

The men's tournament belongs to the ATP Masters 1000 (the highest category of Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP) tournaments, formerly called the Championship Series, Super 9 and ATP Masters Series); the women's tournament since 2009 belongs to the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Premier Tournaments, also the highest for this organization. Currently, the men's and women's tournaments are held separately, in different weeks of July and August. In odd-numbered years the women's tournament is held in Toronto, and the men's in Montreal; in even-numbered years it is vice versa. Since 2011, both tournaments have been held simultaneously, but still in different cities.

The men's tennis tournament in Canada, the direct predecessor to the Canada Masters, has been held annually since 1881 (with the exception of the years of the two World Wars), being one of the three oldest regular tennis tournaments along with Wimbledon and the US Open. The women's parallel tournament has been held since 1892.

Among the men's singles winners, the best result is Ivan Lendl (six-time champion), Rafael Nadal has won the tournament five times, Novak Djokovic four times, and Andre Agassi and Andy Murray three times each. In doubles most often won the tournament Bob and Mike Bryan (they have five titles together), as well as Mahesh Bhupathi, who also won five times with different partners.

Among the women's singles winners are Monica Seles (four times), Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova and Serena Williams (three times each). Martina Navratilova is the most often (six times) topped in doubles, with a total of nine titles at the tournament (three of them in singles).

In recent years, the dates of the tournament directly precede the dates of the U.S. Open. As a result, many top tennis players chose to skip the Canadian tournament in preparation for the US Open. The men's tournament was made mandatory by the ATP, so all the strongest men's players continue to participate in it, and now the women's tournament is also mandatory, which will bring back all the strongest female tennis players to the ranks of participants. In 2007, the tournament in Montreal drew a record number of spectators for a tennis tournament lasting one week.

Since 2004, it has been part of the US Open Series.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!