Brisbane Winners

The Brisbane Tournament, is a tennis tournament that takes place annually in the Australian city of Brisbane in early January on hard surface. It is the first tournament that is played in the year. It began to be played in the 2009 season within the men's calendar.

Australia icon
surface image

Hard Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Brisbane Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
2009 Czech Republic icon Radek Štěpánek Spain icon Fernando Verdasco 3–6 6–3 6–4
2010 United States icon Andy Roddick Czech Republic icon Radek Štěpánek 7–6(7–2) 7–6(9–7)
2011 Sweden icon Robin Söderling United States icon Andy Roddick 6–3 7–5
2012 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Ukraine icon Alexandr Dolgopolov 6–1 6–3
2013 Great Britain icon Andy Murray (2) Bulgaria icon Grigor Dimitrov 7–6(7–0) 6–4
2014 Australia icon Lleyton Hewitt Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–1 4–6 6–3
2015 Switzerland  icon Roger Federer Canada icon Milos Raonic 6–4 6–7(2–7) 6–4
2016 Canada icon Milos Raonic Switzerland  icon Roger Federer 6–4 6–4
2017 Bulgaria icon Grigor Dimitrov Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6–2 2–6 6–3
2018 Australia icon Nick Kyrgios United States icon Ryan Harrison 6–4 6–2
2019 Japan icon Kei Nishikori Russia icon Daniil Medvedev 6–4 3–6 6–2

General Information

Women's tournament.
The women's part of the current Queensland competition was organized in 1997: a purely women's tournament, expanding on the preparatory for the Australian Open, was hosted at the Gold Coast Sports Complex. Here the tournament stayed for 12 years and only in 2009, when the new Queensland Tennis Centre in neighboring Brisbane was commissioned, it changed its venue. Since its inception, the tournament has been one of the basic categories of the elite women's tour, but in 2012 the organizers were able to find additional funding for their prize, upgrading it to a premier series tournament. Since 2020, Brisbane has hosted only the women's portion of the tournament.

Men's tournament.
Men's tournament has a long history, but also only a modern part of it is connected with Brisbane: since 1880s that prize was held in Adelaide, having the name of South Australian Amateur Championship. Its modern history began in 1972 when the organizers managed to make the tournament part of the men's Grand Prix Tour calendar and since 1990 it has been on the ATP Main Tour in the Basic Series. The competition was a precursor to the Australian Open during this entire period, duplicating its coverage. In 2009, the tournament was moved to the Queensland Tennis Centre in Brisbane, forming a new single competition for both the men's and women's tours. Since 2020, the men's part of the tournament has once again been held in Adelaide, where it takes place alongside the women's competition.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!