Beijing Winners

The Beijing Tournament or China Open (formerly known as the Beijing Salem Open) is a professional tennis tournament held in Beijing, People's Republic of China, on hard surface courts. Since 2004 it has been included in the ATP circuit calendar. In the men's branch, the tournament was in the ATP International Series category until the 2008 season, and was upgraded to the ATP Open 500 from the 2009 season onwards.

China icon
surface image

Hard Court (Indoors)

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Beijing Champions

Year Winner Runner-Up Score
1993 United States icon Michael Chang Great Britain icon Greg Rusedski 7-6(5) 6-7(6) 6-4
1994 United States icon Michael Chang Sweden icon Anders Jarryd 7-5 7-5
1995 United States icon Michael Chang Italy icon Renzo Furlan 7-5 6-3
1996 Great Britain icon Greg Rusedski Czech Republic icon Martin Damm 7-6(5) 6-4
1997 United States icon Jim Courier Sweden icon Magnus Gustafsson 7-6(10) 3-6 6-3
1998-2003 Not Held
2004 Russia icon Marat Safin Russia icon Mikhail Youzhny 7-6(4) 7-5
2005 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Argentina  icon Guillermo Coria 5-7 6-1 6-2
2006 Cyprus icon Marcos Baghdatis Croatia icon Mario Ančić 6-4 6-0
2007 Chile icon Fernando González Spain icon Tommy Robredo 6-1 3-6 6-1
2008 United States icon Andy Roddick Israel icon Dudi Sela 6-4 6-7(6) 6-3
2009 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Croatia icon Marin Čilić 6-2 7-6(4)
2010 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon David Ferrer 6-2 6-4
2011 Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych Croatia icon Marin Čilić 3-6 6-4 6-1
2012 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic France icon Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 7-6(4) 6-2
2013 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6-3 6-4
2014 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Czech Republic icon Tomáš Berdych 6-0 6-2
2015 Serbia icon Novak Djokovic Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6-2 6-2
2016 Great Britain icon Andy Murray Bulgaria icon Grigor Dimitrov 6-4 7-6(2)
2017 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Australia icon Nick Kyrgios 6-2 6-1
2018 Georgia icon Nikoloz Basilashvili Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro 6-4 6-4
2019 Austria icon Dominic Thiem Greece icon Stefanos Tsitsipas 3-6 6-4 6-1

General Information

The history of men's competitions is entirely linked to Beijing. The first tournament was held in 1993 as a basic ATP category event. In this form the tournament existed for five years before it was canceled.

In 2004 the prize was restored to its former status, and five years later, in the course of the calendar reform, the organizers managed to raise the status of the tournament to the second most important category. During this period, the Beijing tournament became one of the preparatory tournaments for another major tournament in China, the Shanghai ATP Masters 1000.

Women competition

The women's tournament was created a year later, in 1994. It was held for three years as a non-prestigious Category 4 tournament, after which it was canceled.

In 2000, the prize was revived, but not in Beijing, but in another Chinese city - in Shanghai. For three years, the competition had the same 4th category of the women's tour classification, but in 2003, after the closing of the tournament in Brazil's Costa do Sauipe, the organizers managed to get a more prestigious 2nd category for their competition.

In 2004, the Shanghai competition was moved to Beijing. Five years later, during the reform of the calendar, the Beijing organizers managed to raise the status of their competition to an extreme level: the competition in the Chinese capital becomes one of the eight main competitions of the regular season.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!