Atlanta Winners

The Atlanta Tournament or Atlanta Tennis Championships is a professional tennis tournament held annually in the American city of Atlanta (more precisely in Johns Creek, a suburb of this city). It is played on hard courts at the "Atlanta Athletic Club". The tournament is part of the summer tour of American tournaments on hard courts prior to the US Open and is part of the US Open Series and has the category of ATP World Tour 250.

United States icon
surface image

Hard Court

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Atlanta Champions

Year Champions Runners-up Score
2010 United States icon Mardy Fish United States icon John Isner 4–6 6–4 7–6(7–4)
2011 United States icon Mardy Fish United States icon John Isner 3–6 7–6(8–6) 6–2
2012 United States icon Andy Roddick Luxembourg  icon Gilles Müller 1–6 7–6(7–2) 6–2
2013 United States icon John Isner  Kevin Anderson 6–7(3–7) 7–6(7–2) 7–6(7–2)
2014 United States icon John Isner Israel icon Dudi Sela 6–3 6–4
2015 United States icon John Isner Cyprus icon Marcos Baghdatis 6–3 6–3
2016 Australia icon Nick Kyrgios United States icon John Isner 7–6(7–3) 7–6(7–4)
2017 United States icon John Isner United States icon Ryan Harrison 7–6(8–6) 7–6(9–7)
2018 United States icon John Isner United States icon Ryan Harrison 5–7 6–3 6–4
2019 Australia icon Alex de Minaur United States icon Taylor Fritz 6–3 7–6(7–2)

General Information

Until 1987, Indianapolis was the site of the U.S. Open Championship on unpaved courts. In that year, the Indianapolis Tennis Center courts were converted to DecoTurf, the artificial hard surface used at the U.S. Open. In 1988, a new tournament, the U.S. Men's Hardcourt Championships, began in Indianapolis. The tournament attracted the attention of the game's leading masters and, as a result, sponsors. In 1992, Thomson/RCA became a sponsor of the tournament and remained in this role until 2007.

Since 1990, when the ATP Tour was founded, the Indianapolis tournament has been ranked in the middle of the tour's three categories, ATP Championship series, since 1998 ATP International Gold, and in 2001 it was voted the best tournament of the year in that category by the players. However, in 2003 its status was downgraded to the basic category, ATP International. The prize money fell from $700,000 in 2002 to $575,000 a year later.

The tournament began to lose its most titled participants and in 2007, its main sponsor left it. As a result, the tournament changed its name to the Indianapolis Tennis Championships and its prize pool dropped to $450,000 over the next two years. In late 2009, the rights to the tournament were purchased by the ATP and transferred to Atlanta and it was moved to the Atlanta Athletic Club courts.

Winners and finalists

John Isner has the most wins at the Atlanta singles tournament, with five wins to his credit (from 2013 to 2015, 2017 and 2018). Three wins came from Pete Sampras, Andy Roddick. In doubles, the three-time champion is Mark Knowles. The only representative of the former Soviet republics to win both singles and doubles in Indianapolis is Dmitry Tursunov, who won singles in 2007 and doubles in 2009 (along with another representative of the former Soviet space, the Latvian Ernest Gulbis).

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!