Acapulco Winners

The Abierto Mexicano de Tenis is a professional tennis tournament held annually in late February at the Princess Mundo Imperial in Acapulco, Mexico. The tournament is part of the activities carried out by the ATP and is part of the ATP World Tour 500 tournament series. The tournament was played on red clay courts outdoors until 2013 and from 2014 it changed its surface to concrete.

Mexico icon
surface image

Clay - outdoors (1993–2013) Hard - outdoors (2014–present)

atp-500 image

Official Website

All Acapulco Champions

Year Champion Runner-up Score
1993 Austria icon Thomas Muster Spain icon Carlos Costa 6–2 6–4
1994 Austria icon Thomas Muster (2) Brazil icon Roberto Jabali 6–3 6–1
1995 Austria icon Thomas Muster (3) Brazil icon Fernando Meligeni 7–6(7–4) 7–5
1996 Austria icon Thomas Muster (4) Czech Republic icon Jiří Novák 7–6(7–3) 6–2
1997 Spain icon Francisco Clavet Spain icon Joan Albert Viloca 6–4 7–6(9–7)
1998 Czech Republic icon Jiří Novák Belgium icon Xavier Malisse 6–3 6–3
1999 Not held
2000 Argentina  icon Juan Ignacio Chela Argentina  icon Mariano Puerta 6–4 7–6(7–4)
2001 Brazil icon Gustavo Kuerten Spain icon Galo Blanco 6–4 6–2
2002 Spain icon Carlos Moyà Brazil icon Fernando Meligeni 7–6(7–4) 7–6(7–4)
2003 Argentina  icon Agustín Calleri Argentina  icon Mariano Zabaleta 7–5 3–6 6–3
2004 Spain icon Carlos Moyà (2) Spain icon Fernando Verdasco 6–3 6–0
2005 Spain icon Rafael Nadal Spain icon Álbert Montañés 6–1 6–0
2006 Peru icon Luis Horna Argentina  icon Juan Ignacio Chela 7–6(8–6) 6–4
2007 Argentina  icon Juan Ignacio Chela (2) Spain icon Carlos Moyà 6–3 7–6(7–2)
2008 Spain icon Nicolás Almagro Argentina  icon David Nalbandian 6–1 7–6(7–1)
2009 Spain icon Nicolás Almagro (2) France icon Gaël Monfils 6–4 6–4
2010 Spain icon David Ferrer Spain icon Juan Carlos Ferrero 6–3 3–6 6–1
2011 Spain icon David Ferrer (2) Spain icon Nicolás Almagro 7–6(7–4) 6–7(2–7) 6–2
2012 Spain icon David Ferrer (3) Spain icon Fernando Verdasco 6–1 6–2
2013 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (2) Spain icon David Ferrer 6–0 6–2
2014 Bulgaria icon Grigor Dimitrov  Kevin Anderson 7–6(7–1) 3–6 7–6(7–5)
2015 Spain icon David Ferrer (4) Japan icon Kei Nishikori 6–3 7–5
2016 Austria icon Dominic Thiem Australia icon Bernard Tomic 7–6(8–6) 4–6 6–3
2017 United States icon Sam Querrey Spain icon Rafael Nadal 6–3 7–6(7–3)
2018 Argentina  icon Juan Martín del Potro  Kevin Anderson 6–4 6–4
2019 Australia icon Nick Kyrgios Germany icon Alexander Zverev 6–3 6–4
2020 Spain icon Rafael Nadal (3) United States icon Taylor Fritz 6–3 6–2

General Information

The Mexican Open was founded on the eve of the 1993 season in Mexico City: as part of an extension of the ATP main tour calendar between the Australian Open and a major tournament in Indian Wells, filling a last-minute slot reserved for the only primer in that period. In 1997, as part of calendar reform, the Mexican base series event was moved to the late fall, entering the regional primetime series.

The tournaments lasted only two seasons there, and already in 1999 ATP invited the Mexicans and their Latin American counterparts (at the time the series also included tournaments in Chile and Colombia) to move their competitions to February, allocating for one of them the more prestigious ATP International Gold category and agreeing even to a one-year absence of each of the tournaments in the calendar. The Mexicans eventually bought the more prestigious license, and a year later, raising the prestige of their competition, they added a women's tournament as well, buying from the WTA the license of one of the basic categories, which had been vacated after the transfer to autumn and changing the status of the tournament in Sao Paulo, simultaneously moving their championship to another sports complex - in Acapulco, which was more appropriate for the new size of the tournament.

On the eve of the 2014 season, another change occurred in the history of the Mexican championship: taking advantage of the financial problems of tournaments in San Jose and Memphis (both in the USA), as well as the desire of the organizers in Rio de Janeiro to return to their main ATP tour, the owners of the tournament in Acapulco moved their competition to the hard,[1] in the expectation to strengthen its composition. One of the American tournaments, however, was eventually shut down and the other was downgraded; the Brazilians, on the other hand, filled the Mexican spot as the elite mainland event during that period.

Winners and Finalists

The men's singles leaders in terms of number of wins are Thomas Muster and David Ferrer, who have each won four times on local courts, with the Austrian winning his titles back in the Basic Series tournament and the Spaniard winning the championship on both clay and hard court. Rafael Nadal won three titles. Donald Johnson and Lukas Kubot won the men's doubles tournament three times at different times; ten other players have two titles each. The list of winners of the women's singles tournament is even more diverse: none of the tennis players could win the local competition more than twice. Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez and Arancha Parra Santonha are the most titled participants in the women's doubles tournaments, winning the prize three times each with different partners.

The doubles events have been won more than once by mono-national pairs: ten titles for the men (four times for the US) and eight for the women (and seven times for the Spaniards). More than once the mono-national finals have been played as part of the prize, including nine times in the men's singles competition, twice in the men's doubles and once each in the women's singles and doubles.

More Content about Countries and Nations

This website is using cookies. More info. Got it!